List of banks in Bangladesh

List of banks in Bangladesh

The commercial banking system dominates Bangladesh's financial sector. Bangladesh Bank is the Central Bank of Bangladesh and the chief regulatory authority in the sector. The banking system is composed of four state-owned commercial banks, five specialized development banks, thirty private commercial Banks and nine foreign commercial banks. The Nobel-prize winning Grameen Bank is a specialized micro-finance institution, which revolutionized the concept of micro-credit and contributed greatly towards poverty reduction and the empowerment of women in Bangladesh.

Specialised Bank of Bangladesh:

 Private Commercial Banks

Private banks are the highest growth sector due to the dismal performances of government banks (above). They tend to offer better service and products.

 Foreign Commercial Banks

 Specialized Development Banks

Out of the specialized banks, two (Bangladesh Krishi Bank and Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank) were created to meet the credit needs of the agricultural sector while the other two ( Bangladesh Shilpa Bank (BSB) & Bangladesh Shilpa Rin Sangtha (BSRS) are for extending term loans to the industrial sector[1]. The Specialized banks are:

 External links


Copyrights: © 2006-2013, All Rights Reserved.
Administrative Office: 3 No Ward (Kalibari Road) Bhaluka, Mymensingh

Mobile No: +8801912936419, 01717484853
Site Developed by:
 Engineer Basudeb Website Producer  Developer & Technical Support Centre.

Make a free website with Yola